The UST Museum is a university museum with a wide variety of collection. It is a member of the International Council of Museums (ICOM) and University Museums and Collections (UMAC). UST students may enter for free upon presentation of their ID, and may coordinate with the Museum Gallery Attendant for use of the thematic exhibit area for research, performances, exhibits, symposia, and lectures. Music and free access to reading materials delivers a direct experience of cultural awareness, and a mini-library at the 3rd floor office may be used for research. Still photography for personal, non-commercial use only, without flash or tripod is allowed. Use of video camera may be allowed with permission. During the current Special Term (June-July AY 2014-2015) the Gallery is open on Mondays from 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Tuesdays to Fridays 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
REV. FR. ISIDRO C. ABAÑO, O.P.
ASSOC. PROF. ANNA MARIE H. BAUTISTA
The nucleus of the UST Museum's collection was the gabinete de fisica, a collection of animal, mineral and vegetable specimens used as study aids by students of the Faculty of Pharmacy and the Faculty Medicine and Surgery.
The grand staircase leading up to the UST Museum is flanked by murals by Filipino masters Galo Ocampo and Carlos "Botong" Francisco.
When the International Council of Museums (ICOM) was established in 1949, the UST Museum was one of the first member-institutions.
Then-Rector Rev. Fr. Silvestre Sancho, O.P. established the University's Annual National Painting Competition in 1941 and thereby paved the way for the growth of the UST Museum's visual art collection.
The UST Museum's collection was originally housed in the Intramuros campus, then transferred to the Sampaloc campus in 1936.
The UST Museum owns the largest carved ivory religious image, a Crucified Christ, in the country.